Remembering Chris Cornell

‪”My heart is broken. Still in a state of shock. I have no words.”

– Taylor Momsen (The Pretty Reckless)

So if you have been around the blog for a little while, you might have noticed that I’m kinda a fan of  Grunge; acts like Nirvana, Alice in Chains, The Smashing Pumpkins, Pearl Jam all amazing groups and then of course there’s Soundgarden.

Chris Cornell, the lead vocals, rhythm guitar of Soundgarden passed away May 17th 2017 in his hotel room after a show on Soundgarden’s recent US tour. The show on the 17th was supported by life long fan Taylor Momsen and her group, The Pretty Reckless. He was 52.

“My heart is broken. Still in a state of shock. I have no words.”- Taylor Momsen

I’m not going to make this post about how Cornell died because the questions along are not something we need to be digging into but to remember him, for the music that he created, as a solo artist, with Soundgarden or any other of his projects. Soundgarden pioneered Grunge music, mixing elements of Punk Rock and Metal into a dirty, aggressive sound, this music was everything. From Black Hole Sun to Outshined the music was great. They left a mark on 90’s Rock that not only help to develop and progress and inspire countless other artists but a mark that will not be forgotten.

Regarding Soundgarden’s legacy, in a 2007 interview Cornell had to say,

I think, and this is now with some distance in listening to the records, but on the outside looking in with all earnestness I think Soundgarden made the best records out of that scene. I think we were the most daring and experimental and genre-pushing really and I’m really proud of it. And I guess that’s why I have trepidation about the idea of re-forming. I don’t know what it would mean, or I guess I just have this image of who we were and I had probably a lot of anxiety during the period of being Soundgarden, as we all did, that it was responsibility and it was an important band and music and we didn’t want to mess it up and we managed to not, which I feel is a great achievement.

He will be missed….

If you would like to listen to some Soundgarden below is a link to Billboards: Soundgarden and Chris Cornell’s Best songs list

http://www.billboard.com/articles/columns/rock/7800864/soundgarden-best-songs-chris-cornell

Leave a Reply

